LAS VEGAS — The NFL will host a revamped Pro Bowl week, dubbed Pro Bowl Games. Gone is the traditional game of tackle football, replaced by a series of skills competitions and three games of flag football over the course of Thursday and Sunday at Allegiant Stadium, home of the Los Vegas Raiders. Points will be up for grabs at each event to determine the overall winner between the AFC and NFC.

Peyton Manning will coach the AFC team while his brother Eli will coach the NFC. The roster selections were determined by consensus votes from fans, players, and coaches. The vote from each group counted one-third to determine the 88 players.

Here’s a look at what you can expect.

How to look?

Thursday’s skills match will be available on ESPN and ESPN+ from 7-8:30 pm ET, and Sunday’s skills match and flag games will be available on ABC, ESPN/ESPN+ from 3-6 pm ET.

Thursday, Feb. 2

Pro Bowl Epic Dodge Ball: This will be a multi-round classic dodgeball tournament with four teams of five players each. It will begin with the AFC and NFC offenses and defenses competing against each other, culminating in an AFC vs. Final round of the NFC. The overall winner receives three points.

round lightning: This is a new event for 2023. Each conference will choose 16 players to compete in a three-part contest with another three points on the line. The first event is “Splash Catch”, with teammates from each conference throwing water balloons at each other from increasing distances. The event then transitions to “High Stakes”, with the advancing players challenged to catch punts from a JUGS machine. In the final stage, the remaining players will move on to “Spill Thrill”, with players aiming for buckets hanging above the head of the opposing team’s coach. The first team to tip over the bucket wins.

longer trip: Four players from each conference will compete for the longest shot off a golf tee. Each player is dealt three hits, with the winner being determined by the longest drive within predetermined limits. The winner gets three points.

precision pass: Each of the three quarterbacks from each conference will compete in a one-minute contest to test their accuracy. The quarterback who hits the most targets earns three points for their conference.

best catch: Two players from each conference compete to showcase their creativity by displaying receptions filmed at iconic Las Vegas locations. An online vote by fans will determine each conference’s favorite, and the two finalists will compete in the next round on Sunday.

Sunday, February 5

best catch: Thursday’s two finalists compete in front of a panel of celebrity judges to determine the overall winner.

iron grid gauntlet: The race format will feature six players from each conference competing in a four-part, 40-yard long gauntlet. Among the challenges: a tire race and pushing a blocking sled across the finish line.

kick the toe: Kickers, punters and long snappers will face off in a giant tic tac toe competition showcasing their respective skills. The first team to complete a connecting line in three squares will earn three points for their conference.

move the chains: Two teams from each conference will compete in a weighted wall pull that tests their strength and speed. Each team consisting of five players must throw a heavyweight wall 10 yards. The best-of-three competition is worth three points.

flag football matches: The winning conference in the first two flag games will earn six points. Points from Skill Matches and the first two sets of flags will be combined and carried over as points at the start of the third and final set of flags. The winner at the end of that game will be the winning conference.


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *